How to deactivate your Facebook account

How to Deactivate or Delete Facebook Account

How to deactivate your Facebook account


There are two (2) ways on how to do it. First is the Temporary Deactivation of a Facebook account, and the Permanent Deletion of a Facebook account.

The deactivation of a Facebook account does not really delete your Facebook account completely. It’s just deactivated for a given period of time. If you want to get back and use your Facebook again, you have the flexibility to do it.

If your account is deactivated, information such as posts, photos, friends list, and “about” are hidden. Nobody can search for your account. Yet, some information is retrievable and visible like messages that you’ve sent.


RELATED


On the other hand, is the deletion of the Facebook account. It is permanent in nature. This means, no matter how hard you try logging in back to your Facebook account, you are not able to do so since it is deleted, forever.

The deletion of the Facebook account is permanent. You aren’t able to access your account once it’s deleted. Everything associated with it will be permanently removed. It can take up to 90 days before your account is removed for all of your information stored in Facebook’s system. Hence, Facebook delays the deletion of your account for a few days.

Tutorial on How to Delete and/or Deactivate Facebook Account using Browser

In this section, we will execute the aforementioned heading using a browser. Make sure your Facebook account is logged in.

  1. Click the inverted triangle at the top right corner.
  2. Select “Settings & Privacy”.
  3. Select “Settings”.
  4. On the Left Side, choose “Your Facebook Information”.
  5. At the bottom, “View” Deactivation and Deletion.
How to deactivate your Facebook account

A new tab is opened, giving you the choices of which one you want to choose. Deactivation or deletion of your Facebook account. You can also notice its differences from each other. Whether you want to deactivate or delete it, it’s up to you.

If you have decided which one to execute, just follow the next steps until you reached the end of the process.

How to Delete and/or Deactivate Facebook Account on Phone

The process of deactivation and deletion of a Facebook account using a Phone is somewhat similar in using a web browser. The steps below will help you to do it.

  1. Tap on the three (3) lines at the bottom right of the Facebook app
  2. Scroll down till you find “Settings and Privacy”
  3. Select “Settings”
  4. Scroll down to “Your Facebook Information.”
  5. Select “Account Ownership and Control”.
  6. Tap “Deactivation and deletion”.
How to deactivate your Facebook account
How to deactivate your Facebook account

You will also have the choices to deactivate or delete your account. Once decided, enter your password, tap “Continue” then delete/deactivate your account.

Final Thoughts

There are many reasons why someone opt-out to deactivate or delete a Facebook account. So Facebook gives you options of which one do you really one to do, a permanent solution or a temporary one. Think deeper before deleting your account since it has consequences.

We recommend to just deactivate your account for a while, then get back whenever you are ready.

Total
68
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts